All about my University work

Iceland, Reykjavik and OutDated

So in February/March 2012 I went to Reykjavik as the producer of a film called OutDated. The film was shot so I think that means I made it as a producer.

We were there for 10days and I barely had anytime to myself. being the Producer my hands were full all the time with questions coming left right and centre and having to answer everyone amongst other things.

I had to have a plan of action for each day that we were there. Being the Producer I had to make sure everyone was doing their job and doing their job well. This was very hard to do. The director caused me huge amounts grief. It was a futile attempt at times to sort him out. The words, ‘My Production,’ uttered from his lips and that was on the second day of being there. I knew from that point it was going to be a huge effort to work with him. If it was the real world I would’ve sacked him but I couldn’t at first due to us being on a student trip. It took until the final day of shooting were I was given the power to remove him simply because he was annoying all of his superiors by becoming to self involved and not listening to what other people had to say. I could rant and rant about the director, but I shan’t. It’s plain to see that I was not happy with him even before by never being on time and not doing story boards after 3 months of badgering and even after he still thinks this is HIS and HIS alone.

Anyway,  tried to perform as well as I could. Perhaps I was a little under prepared but I made sure I did the little things right no matter what. Things like arrange the meetings, have a plan and always, always be on time. Something I had to do to lead by example.

I also tried to keep everyone happy. This did not happen all the time, especially when I sacked Chris Hammond from directing, which he apologised for afterwards for his actions. On non-filming dates I had everyone doing something.

Things like going on a test shoot proved a huge bonus as if we didn’t when we were there then we would’ve failed simply because the director had no idea what he wanted apart from a couple of shots which I really don’t like.

Meeting the actors two days before the shoot proved to be a God send. This gave jus the director and myself time to go through the character bios and the script with any alterations they wanted so they were happy. I was very happy to change anything that was needed and tweaks were made but made for the good. Everyone was made for the better. It also gave us a chance to get to know each other better and I found both Alex and Vala (our Actors) to be lovely people and were a pleasure to work with.

So the shoot itself went ok. The interior shots were easy enough to shoot, not as much pressure, you’re inside and don’t have to worry about lighting and the weather as much. Exterior, well that was always going to fail us. Has luck would have it we shot the first day with the interior shot in the morning when it was clear blue skies. By the time it got to the afternoon and we needed ext. shots the weather had turned and a blizzard insued. This lead to us thinking on our feet. Hammond was in his own little world not listening to anyone trying to solve every question the world had given us. Anyway we decided to shoot the montage scene here as the weather didn’t matter too much. The decision was made for a lot of the crew to head back to the hotel and a few of us stayed back and quickly drive round town to various locations. Which in the end worked out alright apart from being stuck in the Concert Hall for over an hour with kids playing in an orchestra.

Post-Production. Well I still havn’t seen an edit. People seem to dissapear of the face of the Earth when I asked people for it. After two months of nothing from our editor Tom Hill, I sacked him. Which had no impact on the edit at all since he had not even started. I then gave it to Hammond to edit. Why? Simply because no one else would. I personally was too busy to edit it. But after another month of badgering he is still AWOL with only one rough cut which I personally think is massively under par.

What comes next?

Me wanting to produce. I thought it was hell at times but yet in Hindsight I did rather enjoy it. To say I produced that is something I like to be proud of no matter what it is. Could’ve OutDated run smoother? Hell, yes, but this was my first decent scaled film and I don’t think I did horribly bad and next time I do have the suspicion I shall be twice as prepared with doubled results.

Heres a spoof of what I did.

Leave a Reply

