All about my University work

Reflection of the Live Impact Sessions Asses

I really enjoyed being the director of Group C’s Live television show. I’m not sure that I would consider myself as a director as I prefer producing and I didn’t feel like I had the eye to get the right angles at the right time but, I have to say I think I did reasonably well. There were a few things which I can see that needed working on however, there were more things in which I was very happy with whilst directing. I felt I made all the right cues at the right time and instructed the camera men, vision mixer, audio mixer and floor manager very well and was helped with good cues on the timing from the PA. I kept a nice clear voice when instructing and having conversations with the camera men to get what I wanted as well as listening to ideas to get things perfect in terms of directing. I remained calm and composed on the day of the filming and I don’t feel I made too many enemies. The directing for certain bits did get to me a bit though. The ‘song’ we had in our production I felt was poorly directed. It wasn’t quite the kind of song I was anticipating and I would have preferred the song to be at the end as originally scripted. I couldn’t get my head round quite how it was going to work in terms of directing and there was never an AV script for the song. This lead to me improvising in just a few rehearsals (as we only had the lollipop lady for one day, but James Root did help out). I think in the end it worked out well enough and what little direction I did give to the presenter and guest  did help. The view of the zebra crossing also didn’t help me much. This was entirely my fault as I directed this for camera 2. When Matt first meets the lollipop lady there is no wide shot and the viewers don’t really know how far apart they are. Camera 2 was fixed on the Zebra crossing until a certain line was said this therefore made it obsolete until that point which did annoy me as we only had a couple of takes with it like that and was too late to change as we had run out of time by that point. The part where the presenters go to the wall that viewers sent in again I think worked quite well. The close ups of the pictures were good and having camera 2 really did help when getting the camera men to switch from person to person or from picture to picture. The mid shots of Matt however does let this part of the show down. I wanted camera 1 as tight as he could possibly be to camera 2 however this barely transpired despite trying to relay this on the talkbacks. The movement of the presenters from the sofa to the wall was smoothly done as we had a line of pictures above the heads of the presenters so they could get there positions without being in shot. Matt’s disappearance also helped by the camera operators as they all moved into Sophie and kept Matt out of shot therefore minimising the chance of a wrong camera revealing what was going on.

The VT’s were very smoothly transitioned. A fade in and out of the VT’s made it just more aesthetically pleasing. By not having straight cuts it showed the viewer that it’s part of the show and almost gives a passage of time effect which I got from Teletubbies of all places. Every time the VT from their bellies fades out there is always a movement in time, just like when we did it. The presenters did very well with keeping to the times which made cutting to them easier. The presenters were ready as were the camera operators who had to move about during the VTs.

Would I do it again? Yes. Would I put more commitment in? If there wasn’t a 5 week break inbetween yes.

Fun though.

Leave a Reply

