All about my University work

Tom Lackey – Oldest Wing Walker

For our documentary we managed to get hold of Tom Lackey, who holds the Guinness World Record for the oldest ever wing walker. At the age of 90 years and 5 months he flew himself into the record books by beating his own world record set a year or so prior to his latest wing walk.

Tom Lackey

Tom lackey

Born –  May 22nd 1920

Lives – Shirley, Solihull.

Wing Walks – 20+

Did first wing walk in his 80’s

2005 – Became oldest man to do a loop the loop whilst on top of an aircraft.

2009 – Became oldest man to wing walk across the English Channel as part of centenary celebrations of the 1st flight across the Channel by Louis Bleriot.

2011 – Became oldest man to wing walk at 90 years 5 months.

Money raised to date – £1.25million

Tom Lackey - Flying himself into the record books.

2 responses

  1. Charles Schnabolk

    I want to arrange to wing walk across Engish Channel this sunmer to celebrate my 80th birthday

    please send me any information on how I can arrange this trip

    March 24, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    • I honestly don’t know where to start. I am however meeting Tom Lackey on 30th March. I can speak to him next week for you should you want and he should be able to give me alot of information about doing it. So if thats fine please let me know.

      March 24, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

