All about my University work

Avatar is FernGully

Avatar (2009)

Avatar (2009) is the highest grossing film to date taking in more than $2.75billion since its release in December 2009. In 1994 James Cameron came up with the idea of Avatar.

I have only recently seen Avatar and did as much as I could to avoid hearing even the plot of the story, the characters and even the cast. All that I heard was that the visuals were amazing and I even thought that was too much information. I never voiced my opinion either way that it was good or bad simply because I have never seen it. I also have never seen any of the Lord Of The Rings trilogy simply because I have never felt like watching them, not because I don’t like them.

*Spoiler Alert*

Avatar I felt was sub par at best. Nothing was original and the direction even annoyed me. The first few minutes I enjoyed the visuals throughout the film were truly magnificent but they mean nothing if the rest of the film has nothing to it. The film never established rules. The avatar’s themselves had no defining rules. I was confused to what happened if you died as an avatar, did you survive? Dr. Norm Spellman, who becomes an avatar gets shot and then comes out of being an avatar and is just hurting slightly but yet the threat of being killed as an avatar seemed quite ominous at times. Were you immortal as an avatar? I don’t think so but I don’t know.

Gravity was also mentioned at the beginning of the film. Pandora was said to have a lower gravity than Earth, yet nothing changed gravity was the same than that of Earth. You would think if you put $230million into a film you could get that right.

The story itself is nothing more than an insult to my youth. Fern Gully: The Last Rainforest (1992). I watched this film as a child and I loved it. More so I watched it about 6 months before I watched Avatar as I remember it being a good film. Avatar is FernGully. All it is rather than using cartoons and fantasy beings they used a different planet and aliens to try and appeal to a different demographic. I am also glad that I am not the only one who thinks this. When searching for FernGully the second most search is ‘FernGully Avatar’

FernGully: The Last Rainforest (1992)

Comparisons

The Na’vi (Avatar) and the Fairies (FernGully) have similar features

Neytiri (Avatar) and Crysta (FernGully) look very similar, notice the ears.

Crysta

Neytiri

Pandora Forest - Floor Glows

FernGully Forest - Glowing Floor

Avatar - Tree Of Life

FernGully Tree

Glowing Forest

Similar looking forest and set.

Also these two clips one from Avatar and one from FernGully. These are very similar. In each the main character has just gone into the unknown and is on his own to fend off a predator.

You can easily see the similarities, even the way that they just escape the jaws of their predators is similar. The only difference is that Avatar makes it tense and thrilling whereas FernGully has a song, which children do like.

All Avatar is is just a glorified version of FernGully. Cameron said that he had the idea in 1994 two years after FernGully. He claims the reason it took so long to make was purely because the technology wasn’t around then so he had to wait. It also highlights the changing trends in cinema. Cartoon films have proved very popular in the past and since the first fully CGI films came out such as Toy Story (1995) cartoons have almost been extinguished completely.

2 responses

  1. sadakiss

    this is the reason why i had a continuous deja vu during the film Avatar xD

    November 9, 2011 at 12:12 am

  2. “The story itself is nothing more than an insult to my youth” – I didn’t like that sentence. There are many more films to compare. Just think of Pocahontas.
    And apart from that, do you think it is easy to create something new when almost all the ideas has been already taken?

    January 13, 2012 at 6:32 pm

Leave a Reply

